Nursing Now Ontario Awards Ceremony

The Nursing Now Ontario Awards celebrate the contribution of nurses who improve the health outcomes of Ontarians and who contribute to nursing practice. Awards are presented to one winner in three categories: registered practical nurse (RPN), registered nurse (RN) and nurse practitioner (NP). 

The awards ceremony took place during Nursing Week 2021 (May 10 – 16).

After receiving 213 nominations, the Ontario Nurses’ Association (ONA), RNAO and the Registered Practical Nurses Association of Ontario (WeRPN) recognized the award recipients during a special ceremony on May 12, 2021 at 2 p.m. (ET). The event was held virtually on Zoom. The awards fall on the same day as the anniversary of Florence Nightingale’s birth. Nightingale is considered the founder of modern nursing.

This awards program builds on the goals of the Nursing Now campaign, a global initiative aimed at raising the profile of the profession and improving health around the world through nursing. The campaign calls on governments, health professionals and service users to champion the role of nurses in clinical practice, policy and political leadership.


  • Dr. Doris Grinspun, RN, Ph LLD(hon), Dr(hc), FAAN, O.ONT
    Chief Executive Officer, RNAO


  • Morgan Hoffarth, RN, BScN, MN
    President, RNAO
  • Vicki McKenna, RN
    President, ONA
  • Dianne Martin, RPN
    Chief Executive Officer, WeRPN

The award recipients were:

  • Aric Rankin, NP – De dwa da dehs nye>s Aboriginal Health Centre, Hamilton
  • Mahoganie Hines, RN – Hospice Niagara, Niagara
  • Sheri Bruder, RPN – Brantford General Hospital, Brantford

You can see a profile of the awardees and watch the videorecording of the ceremony here.